Jeff Wenman picks up WARL Referee’s top gong

Jeff Wenman has collected WARL Referees Association’s highest honour on Saturday Night after winning the 2013 Ron Hudson Medal at the annual WARL Referee awards at Charles Riley Reserve.

The annual event accentuates the fine job that our local referees do for our great game at a senior and junior level.

Wenman was not the only award winner on the night however, with Joe Makdessi picking up the referee’s referee award whilst Dave Wallis and Tama Wharepouri both picked up the Most Improved and Best First Year senior referee awards respectively.

Andy Devene was named best first year junior alongside Jordon Owen-Turner who picked up the most improved junior award, with Nathan Preston picking up the top junior honour to round out all the award winners.