State U12 Championship

NRL Media Release by Anna Wallin

Wednesday, 31 July 2013

Rugby League’s best 12-year old players will compete for national supremacy next week at the 2013 School Sports 12s Rugby League Championship to be held in Perth, WA, for the first time.

Teams from New South Wales, Western Australia, Northern Territory, Queensland, South Australia and Victoria will play at Lark Hill Sportsplex in Port Kennedy, which is the home of the Rockingham Sharks Rugby League Club.

The students, who have been selected to represent their states through PSSA selection trials, will commence their campaigns on Sunday, 4 August, culminating on Saturday, 10 August.

“The championships are about creating opportunities in this age group which is at the beginning of the boys’ potential career in Rugby League,” NRL General Manager for League Integration and Game Development, Mr Andrew Hill said.

“We have been able to develop a pathway that recognises the age group ensuring that we can provide options for players of every age in every state and Territory.”

Across the week the young players and their parents will be taken through the NRL Junior Welfare programs.

WARL Chief Executive John Sackson said he is delighted to have WA hosting the National 12 tournament, further boosting the profile and promotion of the code in the State.

“Game Development is a huge priority for the WARL,” Sackson said.

“Local registrations have grown almost 15% this year, and the prestige of such events can only help fuel greater interest and participation at this all- important grassroots level. 

“We are also proud that the game of Rugby League can provide all visiting players the opportunity to travel, see new places, meet new friends and take away experiences and memories that will remain with these young kids for the rest of their lives.”

2013 U12s State Championship Draw

2013 WARL U12 State side


1 Rangitukia Jimi Tamaho TeWaa TEIRNEY Highgate Primary School
2 Ky LANDERS Tapping Primary School
3 Yuri Nilolai TAIPETI Koorana Primary School
4 Giovanni LEITUALA Atwell Primary School
5 Gryphon ROY Millen Primary School
6 Te Tuai RAOREN South Thornlie Primary School
7 Braeden KAHU Cannington Primary School
9 Jackson HANSEN  
8 Winiata Drew CHERRINGTON Jandakot Primary School
10 Keanu Webster Jnr KAUKASI Ellenbrook Secondary School
11 Jayden MEAR-OLSEN Beeliar Primary School
12 Devontay TUAITI High Wycombe Primary School
13 Jackson TOPINE Ellen Stirling Primary School
14 Ace MAKI  
15 Jarhys Kirihi JENSEN South Thornlie Primary School
16 Peliata Eliela Manu FISIIHOI Kewdale Primary School
17 Jaydon Purua SOLOMON Parkwood Primary School