The Ken Allen Medal

The Ken Allen Medal commemorates and pays tribute to the outstanding efforts and contribution by Ken Allen to the game of Rugby League in WA.


Ken undertook various roles within the Fremantle Roosters Club and the league then known as WARL. It was Ken’s dedication and commitment to the game that saw him continue the proud history of rewarding and honouring the best player in the local competition when the award was renamed as The Ken Allen Medal.


Plenty of fantastic players have won this award, with Alec Lockley of the Fremantle club winning it a record 4 times. Kere Parata and Isaac Thomas are the only players to receive the award in back to back seasons, with Parata the only player to win the award with different clubs (Belmont & Fremantle).


We have also crowned dual winners 5 times, with the most recent being in 2019 when Daniel Green (South Perth Lions) and Jeremy Wallace (North Beach Sea Eagles) shared the award.


YEAR      NAME                 Position                CLUB

1950       Tom Myles          Winger              Cottesloe

1951       Bob Patching      Second Row       South Perth

1952       Jim Casey            Hooker              Nedlands

1953       Rob Kidner          Front Row           Cottesloe

1954       Arthur Smith      Halfback               Fremantle

1955       Bluey O’Brien     Five Eight             Perth

1956       Bill Hillier            Lock                     Vic Park

1957       Mal Cole              Front Row           Belmont

1958       John Lister          Five Eight             Applecross

1959       Mal Cole & Mike Hunt    Front Row & Fullback      Belmont/South Perth

1960       Harry Raynor      Five Eight             North Beach

1961       Bill Hillier             Lock                      Vic Park

1962       Mick O’Neill        Halfback               South Perth

1963       John Lister           Five Eight             Applecross

1964       Frank Stone        Second Row       South Perth

1965       Ian White            Winger                 Fremantle

1966       Peter McIarty    Halfback               Fremantle

1967       Terry Coman      Front Row           Applecross

1968       Bob Granville     Fullback                Vic Park

1969       Noel Williams     Front Row           Fremantle

1970       Terry Frisby        Centre                     Belmont

1971       Tony Jubb           Five Eight             Belmont

1972       Paul Callaghan   Hooker                 Cottesloe

1973       Alec Lockley       Halfback               Fremantle

1974       Gary Hookman  Winger                 Fremantle

1975       Alec Lockley       Halfback               Fremantle

1976       Rod Nelson         Hooker                Fremantle

1977       Alec Lockley       Halfback               Fremantle

1978       Graham Lynch   Lock                    Vic Park

1979       Ian Walls              Winger                   Canning

1980       Len Standen       Second Row       North Beach

1981       John Fielding      Centre                 Mosman Cottesloe

1982       Alec Lockley       Hooker                 Fremantle

1983       John Zahra          Halfback               Canning

1984       Kevin Denton     Second Row       South Perth

1985       Mark Hall             Centre               Mosman Cottesloe

1986       Robbie Sollis       Lock                  Applecross

1987       Russell May        Halfback             Fremantle

1988       Mark Riley           Halfback             Belmont

1989       Peter Guthrie    Five Eight             South Perth

1990       Murray Hamilton      Second Row       Belmont

1991       Duncan Whitchurch        Lock       Fremantle

1992       Carl Grigg            Centre  Canning

1993       Gavin Jones        Front Row           Fremantle

1994       Fred Sapatu        Second Row       Canning

1995       Brad O’Connor & Darryl Walker Fullback & Halfback         South Perth/Mosman Cottesloe

1996       Paul Abercrombie & Kere Parata               Lock & Second Row         Belmont

1997       Kere Parata         Lock                      Fremantle

1998       Peter Trivett & Jared Millar          Front Row & Lock             Canning/North Beach

1999       Brad Baker          Centre               Fremantle

2000       Troy Beecham   Centre              North Beach

2001       Tony Merrick     Lock                 Joondalup

2002       Shane Brook       Centre              Eastern Bulldogs

2003       Jonathan Muir   Second Row       South Perth

2004       Isaac Thomas     Halfback               South Perth

2005       Craig Phillis         Five Eight             North Beach

2006       Isaac Thomas     Halfback               South Perth

2007       Isaac Thomas     Halfback               South Perth

2008       Michael Guthrie   Centre               South Perth

2009       Tim Cook             Five Eight           Central Bulldogs

2010       Clint Fraser         Front Row           South Perth

2011       Tyron Cranston Fullback                North Beach

2012       Samson Graham    Second Row       Fremantle

2013       Rhys Peakman   Five Eight             Willagee

2014       Caleb Reedy       Five Eight             Joondalup

2015       Jarek Goebel      Five Eight             Rockingham

2016       Tyron Cranston Fullback                North Beach

2017       Scott Jones         Lock                     South Perth

2018       Delane Edwards   Fullback                Fremantle

2019       Daniel Green & Jeremy Wallace Second Row & Halfback South Perth/North Beach