WA features in NRL One Community Awards

The 2012 NRL One Community Awards are announced tonight at Sydney’s Town Hall, and WA is well represented with two finalists, highlighting the dedication and commitment to grassroots Rugby League in the state.

James “Sully” Sullivan of South Perth Lions RLC is up for the Toyota National Volunteer of the Year for his tireless work with the Lions, Men of League, his League Talk radio program on Sport FM, and the 2012 WARL Pilbara Roadshow in 2012 (just to name a few). Sully is the only nominee not from NSW or QLD in this category.

Toyota will provide $5,000 to the winner and $5,000 to their club .

Kimberley Rugby League is nominated in the Telstra One Community Grassroots Club of the Year award, a fantastic achievement for a club that has only been running for two years in one of the most remote locations in Australia. The club consists of two teams, Kununurra Thunder and Ord River Bulls, and one representative team, East Kimberley Eagles, who travel to NT throughout the season. Once again, Kimberley Rugby League is the only nominee not from Rugby League’s eastern states heartland.

Telstra will provide two Telstra Assistance Packs (valued at $2,000 each) plus $2,000 to the winning club.

Now in its sixth year, the One Community Awards honour the outstanding contributions made by Rugby League’s volunteers, grassroots clubs, teachers, students and NRL players.

“While we have more than 84,000 volunteers throughout Australia, these finalists are particularly worthy of acknowledgement, with many having dedicated more than 20 years of service to Rugby League,” said NRL General Manager of Community, Culture and Diversity, Ms Trish Crews.

The Western Australian Rugby League and West Coast Pirates would like to congratulate Sully and Dick Pasfield and his team of volunteers at Kimberley Rugby League on their nominations in these prestigious national awards.