Who Will Have Grand Final Glory?

In the best competition in recent history for Western Australian Rugby League, seven clubs will be represented in the Harvey Norman Premiership Grand Final series on Saturday at nib Stadium in Perth.

The development of the code is working well and with around 2500 registered players in the system – the most of any state outside of New South Wales and Queensland, League bosses are excited that the grass roots development is matching their quest for long term NRL expansion options.

In a replay of the 2010 First Grade Grand Final North Beach Sea Eagles will meet South Perth Lions. During the home and away season both clubs had a win each, but it was North Beach who strangled the Lions fire power two weeks ago to get to the Grand Final first.

North Beach will be sweating on getting some of their top players back onto the field, but it will be the tactics of both teams that will be the telling factor.

In the Reserves final, South West Warriors in just their second season in the competition will travel from Bunbury keen to show the WARL that they are ready to stake a claim for first grade status.

They will take on Rockingham Sharks in what will be a classic encounter and a game well worth getting to the ground early to see.

Joondalup Giants will take on Willagee Bears in the Under 18 Grand Final. This competition will have some of the future game’s talent on show.

In the lead off game, the women will feature in the LeagueTag final with Fremantle Roosters playing Joondalup Giants


Game Details:
Saturday, 3 September
nib Stadium, Pier Street, Perth
1.30:    LeagueTag                  Fremantle Roosters v Joondalup Giants
2.45:    Under 18                     Joondalup Giants v Willagee Bears
4.15:    Reserves                     South West Warriors v Rockingham Sharks
6.00:    First Grade                North Beach Sea Eagles v South Perth Lions