Tyron Cranston Wins Ken Allen Award

North Beach Fullback Tyron Cranston was a runaway winner in WA Rugby League’s highest individual award, the Ken Allen Medal announced on Friday night.

After polling in the first eight rounds of the home and away season, Cranston finished with 26 votes, seven clear of runner up Josh Benjamin from Kalamunda Bulldogs.

In third place was Rockingham Sharks’ Caleb Reedy with 16 votes.

The fullback has enjoyed a good year with the Sea Eagles and was a big factor in the showing of the side all year. He had an uncanny skill of being able to turn games around through his ability to break lines and create scoring opportunities against the flow of play.

The humble winner after the count was proud of his win.

“It has been a tough season for us but at the same time one of the best since coming to Western Australia four years ago. I was lucky to have a good team around me which made my job easier”.

The medal win going to North Beach was in some part a consolation for going down in the Grand Final a week before.

Other awards presented last night included Highest Try Scorer, Daniel Sneddon of Joondalup Giants with 26. Scott Jones of South Perth Lions took out the award for Highest Goal Scorer (65) and Highest Points Scorer with 146.

The awards capped off an exciting year for Rugby League in WA, both on and off the field. The competition was one of the best seen in the past decade with little separating the top sides and the emergence of the South West Warriors providing a fertile growth area for the league in Bunbury.

The ground work being done at operational level was also an important part in getting the game in top shape in the state at all levels, while planning for the potential of an NRL side in 2014.

Top Ten Leader Board
Player                                Club                                                        Points
Tyron Cranston                 North Beach Sea Eagles                     26
Josh Benjamin                   Kalamunda Bulldogs                           19
Caleb Reedy                     Rockingham Sharks                               16
Isaac Thomas                    South Perth Lions                                 13
Delane Edwards                Fremantle Roosters                             11
Taj Mailata                         Fremantle Roosters                              10
Daniel Sneddon                 Joondalup Giants                                  9
Craig Phillis                        North Beach Sea Eagles                       8
Scott Jones                       South Perth Lions                                    8
Ben McCrone                    Fremantle Roosters                               8

All Award Winners
First Grade                     
Highest Try Scorer                 Daniel Sneddon (Joondalup Giants)               26 Tries
Highest Goal Scorer               Scott Jones (South Perth)                              65 Goals
Highest Points Scorer             Scott Jones (South Perth)                              146 Points
Ken Allen Award                     Tyron Cranston (North Beach)                       26 Votes

Reserve Grade                                                                 
Highest Try Scorer                 Trent Griffin (Rockingham Sharks)                17 Tries
Highest Goal Scorer               Brandon Timlin (South West Warriors)           63 Goals
Highest Points Scorer             Trent Griffin (Rockingham Sharks)                172 Points
Player of the Year                  Brandon Timlin (South West Warriors)           14 Votes

Women’s League Tag                                                     
Highest Try Scorer                 Stacey Avery (Fremantle Roosters)               15 Tries
Highest Goal Scorer               Amber Spence (Joondalup Giants)                26 Goals
Highest Points Scorer             Amber Spence (Joondalup Giants)                64 Points
Player of the Year                  Sarah Cadler (Fremantle Roosters)               18 Votes

Other Awards                                                            
Rising Star Award                              Ethan Reynolds (Rockingham Sharks)
Women’s Representative Player       Tracy Yeardley (Rockingham Sharks)                      
Senior Representative Player            Delane Edwards (Fremantle Roosters)                      
Club Champion                       Rockingham Coastal Sharks